By jen blood

Before the After

Adult Mystery

Erin Solomon and fellow reporter Daniel “Diggs” Diggins find themselves on a remote Maine island searching for an entire community that has mysteriously vanished – Erin’s mother, Kat, among them. Soon, Erin and Diggs are in a desperate race to save Kat from the forces behind the alleged cult suicide on Payson Isle twenty-five years before. Things are complicated further when a figure from Erin’s past returns, bringing with him long-sought answers about the Payson Church of Tomorrow. With federal agents in pursuit, the clock winding down, and bad guys at every turn, Erin will do everything she can to at last learn the truth about her past. But this time, someone in her life will pay the ultimate price for her quest. 

Best Selling Author

Jen Blood

Jen Blood is the USA Today-bestselling author of two critically acclaimed, action-packed mystery series: The Erin Solomon Mysteries and the Flint K-9 Search and Rescue Mysteries. Both series feature strong, independent women who dominate in their chosen fields (Erin Solomon as an investigative reporter intent on learning the truth about her own past; Jamie Flint as a single mom, small business owner, and K-9 search and rescue trainer and handler). 

Other Books in the Series

The Book of J.

The hihgly anticipated conclusion to the USA Today-bestselling Erin Solomon pentalogy. Jonestown was just the beginning…

Midnight Lullaby

In the summer of 2000, a ritual killer is loose in Portland, Maine. Reporters Erin Solomon and Daniel Diggins will do whatever it takes to get the story – risking their lives in the process.

The Darkest Thread

Two missing sisters, a forest infamous for its sinister history, and a sadistic killer with a twisted sense of right and wrong.
K-9 handler Jamie Flint and her dog Phantom battle the clock and the elements to find the girls before it’s too late.


“The pace is blistering right from the start. Actually gasped out loud in places! Torn between wanting to know the answers and yet never wanting it to end!

– amazon reviewer

Coming Soon!

Available March 20, 2021

The Haunting

YA Paranormal Mystery/Romance

Seventeen-year-old Kaitlyn Martin inherits an old estate on a remote Maine island only to learn she’s also heir to a curse: in her family, any girl bearing the mark of the butterfly is fated to die before her eighteenth birthday. Now, allied with two mysterious boys inextricably linked to her family’s past, Kaitlyn must find a way to break the curse before she becomes another casualty of a war started long before she was born.

My Writing Blog

Follow Along

Flint K-9 Returns in 2021

Flint K-9 Returns in 2021

  I know I'm not alone when I say 2020 was...well...let's go with challenging. More than once I was convinced the blasted year would never end, but I'm so grateful to say that my family and I survived relatively unscathed. No one suffered with Covid, and because...

Magnus and Marji on Maine Crime Writers

Magnus and Marji on Maine Crime Writers

In this month's Maine Crime Writers post, I give a brief history (and plenty of pics and video) of Magnus the Cat and Marji the Puppy, the newest members of the family here in Phippsburg. Read it here!

Meet the Fosters

Meet the Fosters

So... Remember those puppies I was shooting last week? Photos, people, just photos. Relax. Anyway... It turns out, those puppies needed a foster home for a couple of weeks. I applied to be a foster a couple of weeks ago, and had been asking about what they were doing...

Contact Author